Washington Post Supports Online Scam

On April 16, 2010, in Making Money from Home, Scammers, by Wilfried F. Voss

Blessed be the reader of the Washington Post, for they will be scammed.
- Wilfried F. Voss

Click Image to Enlarge

It is a well-known fact that today’s traditional newspapers are struggling financially due to decreasing subscriptions caused by freely available information on the Internet. One of these newspapers is The Washington Post with their online version at washingtonpost.com.

There are many ways of creating additional revenues through the Internet and the most obvious one is online advertisement. I personally believe that the hype regarding online advertisement, made so famous by Google, is reaching the point of exhaustion, meaning less people feel inclined following ads on their browser windows. The reasons may that they are getting tired of the ads plus the increasing number of scams. Add to this the current economically fragile situation. To make things worse, many businesses discover they spent too much money without noticing any sufficient impact on their sales. After all, everybody does the same thing, and competition is tough, which increases the costs per click – That’s just how Google works.

So, what is a reputable publication like The Washington Post to do to attract more advertisers? The answer is easy: You lower your standards of what you allow as advertisement, even if it means supporting the greatest online scam these days, the Google Profit Library, which has now transformed into the Web Profit Club.

In the past I had posted articles such as The Scam: Work At Home Mom Makes $6,397/Month Part-TimeWashingtonPost.Com – Unwillingly Supporting A Scam?, and washingtonpost.com – Structure Of The Misleading Ads. Until then I was convinced the online version of The Washington Post at washingtonpost.com was an unwilling supporter of scam advertisement. After all, the ads were placed through a third party, pulse360, in my personal opinion the largest provider of fake content links in the online business. Striking a deal between The Washington Post and pulse360 seemed to be a smart business move at the time, but it seems that deal is off now. At least lately I hadn’t seen any more ads by pulse360 on washingtonpost.com.

Maybe, I thought, The Washington Post had come to its senses and realized these ads defrauded a great number of unsuspecting Americans. Well, I was wrong. It is worse than it was before. The Washington Post is now placing scam advertisement through their own advertising service. As they say, sometimes what’s right is not as important than what’s profitable.

The screen shot  as shown in the upper left corner, was taken today from an article in the Washington Post‘s online version (Just in case I violated copyrights, and you are an official representative of the Washington Post, let me know, and I will remove any references that violate your copyright). The three advertisements in the box above seem valid at first look, and I believe that two of them are. The second ad, though, is definitely a scam (See also my post Work At Home: Make $7,300 to $9,500 a Month which explains the scam).

Out of curiosity I clicked on the Buy a link here hyperlink to see who The Washington Post was using as an advertisement service. My browser opened a new window displaying the following content:

Click on Image to Enlarge

Supplement April 21, 2010

Today’s online version of The Washington Post revealed the miraculous reappearance of Kelly Richards. According to the “LA Sentinel” (yet another fake newspaper/website) she now creates her phantastic income in Los Angeles.

And yet another miracle occurred! Kelly Richards can change appearances – look at the two photos in the “LA Sentinel” below. On a side note: Michelle Richardson in turn now looks like the original Kelly Richards. Are we now sufficiently confused? I am yet again flabbergasted that people still fall for this, and don’t realize that this is a scam.

Kelly Richards Ad in the Washington Post online version - Click to Enlarge

LA Sentinel - Fake Newspaper/Website - Click to Enlarge

As always, please feel free to leave a comment (see bottom of this post), whether you agree with me or not.

Advertisement

Vampire Ascending - A Novel by Lorelei BellVampire Ascending

by Lorelei Bell Sabrina Strong is a Touch Clairvoyant who knows a secret. She knows her mother was turned into a vampire when Sabrina was ten. Now that she is grown up, a powerful magnate in the Chicago business world hires her to reveal the identity of who relentlessly murders vampires in his ultra-modern stronghold of a hotel. [Read More...] – Including an excerpt of the first chapter.

Vampire Ascending is now available at Amazon.Com, Amazon.co.ukBarnes & Noble, and any other good bookstore.

6 Responses to “Washington Post Supports Online Scam”

  1. Stephanie says:

    Hi,
    I made the mistake of “fooling myself” and submitting my info for the internet scam fraud you wrote about in January, but because your article popped up, I called to cancel my account. They have an address, a billing department and a customer service department. I was able to cancel my account and avoid the $139 charge, but is the company valid? I see from your article that the advertising is fake, but what about this business? Are people doing this?

  2. Hi Stephanie,

    First of all, thank you very much for your comment. You had asked a few, very valid questions regarding the scam. I am in the process of writing another article about this topic, and I will take the liberty of keeping your e-mail address until then (I usually don’t collect contacts that leave a comment). I will contact you again as soon as the article is available on my blog.

    Regards,
    Wilfried Voss

  3. Ryane says:

    I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way to make good money is to earn it the old fasion way! Get up and go to work! My Mom is able to work her job from home or her office but she has an office and she has to go in several days a week. These work from home things are scary to me. They could be good ideas if people wouldn’t abuse them but there are too many crooked people out there!

    And to think “Kelly Richards” is from Killeen, TX and every other city in the US! LOL If it looks / sounds too good to be true it probably is!!!

  4. jennifer SCHROEDER says:

    well, it keeps going back & forth. i mean in reality are you not making money from doing this Mr. Wilfried F. Voss. anyway, what kind of name is Wil – fried? never heard of that. seems like everone if full of b/s and makes money off doing things like this one way or another!

  5. @jennifer SCHROEDER:
    I usually respect responses made by readers, but this one goes a little too far… Sometimes you’ve got to give your head a shake!

  6. jen says:

    I do believe that the whole thing is a scam. I am getting ready to relocate. I was searching for a job in washington, found this job posting clicked on the link and it took me to a similure page as shown above . Only problem is it didn’t say that the chick was from washington or some off the wall place, but where I live now. but it stated at the top that it was the washington post. I live in central texas right now. Come on now, that just screams scam.

Leave a Reply

*

Anti-Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree